Would you want to read minds? My rambling thoughts.

5 Apr

I wish I could read minds.

But not every mind.  And it wouldn’t be like an uncontrolled thing.  Because who knows what I would find in some people’s minds, and I guarantee I would enjoy some people’s thoughts much more than others’.  No, I would want to control who I read; it would be like a selective sort of power.  Not automatic/unintentional; I would be able to turn my power on and off whenever I wanted, like a light switch.  If a person came up to me, and I wanted to know what they were thinking, I would just tell myself, okay, I would like to know what this person is thinking.  But if I didn’t want to know, I wouldn’t have to.  Because again, I wouldn’t always want to know.

But maybe my power should be expanded; like maybe it shouldn’t even matter if the person is in my vicinity; maybe they could be miles and miles away and I would still be able to read their thoughts.  That would be useful.

It would just be so handy to read minds.  It could also potentially be a very helpful political tool.  Like if the president of one nation is doing a deal with a sketchy president from another nation, I would be able to tell the nice president if said sketchy president is going to stay true to his word or bail.  Also, I might finally be able to tell the world what freaking North Korea is actually up to.  It would be so handy.

This is assuming that only I would have the power to read minds.  Which I guess is a tad selfish, and a hint at my somewhat inflated ego.  But I do admit that I consider myself a very good person– good, in this context, meaning opposite of evil–and I know for a fact that had I this power of reading minds, I would not abuse it or become corrupt.  Because honestly, I can’t see myself becoming corrupt.  I would instead use this power as a force for good.  Yes, obviously I would also want to use this power for selfish reasons, like knowing if *George really does want to date me, or if my best friend is lying when she tells me that dress looks great.  But ultimately, I would use my power to try and bring more peace to this world than exists at present.  Because let’s be real, all I really want for this planet is some goddamn peace.

It’s probably a combination of my slightly inflated ego and the fact that I am a female that makes me so certain that I would not become corrupt with this power.  I mean, let’s face it; minus some extreme cases, women are generally much less likely than men to want to wage war on one another or want to gain power via violence and intimidation.  Men are constantly feeling the need to prove their macho-ness, while women really just want everyone to be peaceful and content and happy.  Okay, that’s a gross generalization but from my experience and observations, it is for the most part true.  I sincerely believe that if only women ruled the world, we would live in a much better place.  True, females can be vicious and cruel to one another via insults and bullying, but just think what would happen; today, men rule the world and they solve their problems by fighting it out and punching one another until one side wins physically.  That’s how it has always been, because men just naturally solve their problems physically.  Women, on the other hand, are much more inclined to attack each other verbally, so really, if women ruled the world, we wouldn’t have a problem with wars; instead, we would have a problem with Facebook and Twitter rants and angry e-mails; basically, hate mail.  And in my opinion, hate mail is a hell of a lot better than war, when put in perspective.  That’s not to say that there aren’t women who would go to war.  There are some tough cookies out there.  But frankly, I think it takes a lot more guts to try and solve problems without physical fights than to decide to go to war.

I have no idea how this exploration into mind-reading turned into a feminist declaration.  These are just my thoughts, rambling on as they come to me.  In a way, you are basically reading my mind right now.  But only a small portion of it.  Because minds are vast, scary things.  Life may be like a box of chocolates (no, I haven’t been watching Forrest Gump recently, despite what you may think), but so are minds; you never know what’s going to pop up.

*Name has been changed.  So really, you’re not reading my mind, because I’m filtering it.

2 Responses to “Would you want to read minds? My rambling thoughts.”

  1. Ophelia's Dreaming April 5, 2013 at 2:06 am #

    This reminds me of Sookie Stackhouse. Anyway, to answer your question, I’m happy not knowing the thoughts of others. I’m not sure I’d be able to control it. And, there are somethings I’m better off knowing, I think. Interesting post, though.

    • chroniclesofahighschooler April 5, 2013 at 4:06 am #

      Yes, I think my desire to read minds would definitely hinge on whether I would be able to control it or not. Thank you for your comment!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 48 other followers

